Wigton Road Methodist Church, Carlisle

Part of North Cumbria Methodist Circuit

Jesus preached the Gospel - the good news of the Kingdom of God. Through Jesus' death on the cross, and his resurrection, Christians believe that God has broken the power of all that is evil in the world and in ourselves. If we accept forgiveness and liberation and are willing to be open to the Holy Spirit, God can enable us to resist evil and to live life to the full.


What we believe as Christians

To proclaim and affirm its conviction of God's love in Christ, for us and for all the world; and renew confidence in God's presence and action in the world and in the Church -

Underpinning everything we do with God-centred  worship and prayer;

Supporting community development and action for justice, especially among the most deprived and poor -  in Britain and worldwide;

Developing confidence in evangelism and in the capacity to speak of God and faith in ways that make sense to all involved;

Encouraging fresh ways of being Church;

Nurturing a culture in the Church which is people-centred and flexible.


Priorities of the Methodist Church

Our Team

Minister:  

Reverend David Firth                                       Tel:    +44 (0) 1228 525540

                                                                            minister@ carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk


Stewards:

Mrs Janice Gray                                                janicegray@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk

Mrs Betty Graham

Mr Alan Wharton                                               alanwharton@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk

Mrs Susan Kydd                                               susankydd@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk                                         


Junior Church Leader  

                                    Mrs Pat Staley               patstaley@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk


Treasurer:                Mrs Mary Caddle           marycaddle@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk  


Safeguarding Officer:  

                                    Mrs  Susan Kydd          susankydd@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk


Caretaker:                Mrs Janice Gray            janicegray@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk


Room  Bookings:  Mrs Doreen Fairless     Tel:    +44 (0)1228 562638


Magazine  Editor:  Miss Moira Wilson         moirawilson@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk   


Church Notices:    Mrs Christine Masterson

                                                                            notices@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk


Web site:                 Mr John Gallop               admin@carlislewigtonroadmethodistchurch.org.uk

With over 110 members, we are  the largest  Methodist congregation in the North Cumbria Methodist Circuit.

The Circuit comprises sixteen Methodist churches situated in the north of Cumbria from Gilsland in the east to Port Carlisle in the west.

For information on the origins of the Methodist society at Wigton Road in Carlisle, please click on  history.

  David  Firth